Why I chose an iPhone 4s

I’m sorry Google, Samsung, Microsoft and Nokia. I really wanted to break out of one walled garden and explore another. None of your devices are truly free and none of your offerings truly perfect.

Originally I looked at my iPod Touch 64GB and lamented. If I ran a Personal Hotspot I could share a new phone with it and double-up on my experience using both Android or Windows Phone and iOS. However when I compared what was available I decided keeping things simple and converging my iPod and phone into one device made the most logical sense; less to charge, less to find and less to learn.

I did however do it grudgingly but lured by a simple fact:

I could sign up to a mobile phone contract for little more than my unlimited home broadband that gave me unlimited untethered phone broadband at least 2.5 times faster than I can get into my house.

The choice was just too compelling.

So it came down to swapping my very basic phone for something else; something Personal Hotspot capable and high end to cover the period of the contract. My options were diverse but I creamed the crop to:

  • iPhone 4s
  • Nokia Lumia 800
  • Samsung Galaxy S2
  • Samsung Galaxy Nexus

Each had a compelling set of reasons to buy.

iPhone 4s

  • Small, good phone size, yet HD screen.
  • Proven technology from my iPod Touch, migrate everything without paying more.
  • First iPhone with 64GB (essential for me).
  • Won the Gadget Show power-use tests with 8 hours and beating all others.
  • Guaranteed at least two major firmware updates in its lifetime

Interesting to note, Siri was not on my list of advantages. Of the negatives:

  • Same, boring UI, not dated, but no access to technical content either
  • Some browser incompatibilities, yet I believe Apple is right to be Flash stubborn
  • Expensive and part of the Apple walled garden

Nokia Lumia 800

  • First real Windows Phone contender
  • Solid Nokia Design, small and phone like
  • Excellent camera and offline maps built in
  • Real early adopter platform leading to the Windows 8 future
  • Galaxy S2 level quality of OLED display

Negatively however:

  • No commitment to updates, not even Windows Phone 8.0
  • Functionally limited, although Microsoft is rapidly getting up to the leaders
  • 800×600 res display limited by Windows Phone OS; no new phones will be higher res until WP8
  • Small flash storage with unibody design and no ability to add more
  • No Personal Hotspot support yet (although vaguely promised by Nokia)

Galaxy Samsung S2

  • Amazing high spec phone
  • Great OLED display, excellent graphics acceleration
  • Dripping in features, including 5GHz, DLNA software, upgradable flash memory

Negatively:

  • Running Android 2.4 although version 4.0 now out
  • Rumours of 4.0 upgrade, but no official word
  • 800×600 res display, trumped by Nexus and iPhone
  • Somewhat large and unpocketable
  • Android Marketplace is like the wild west, and then paid software costs more than Apple

Galaxy Nexus

  • Concept phone developed by Samsung for Google
  • Latest Android 4.0, pure and not messed around with by Samsung
  • Jaw dropping amazing HD screen that knocks it out of the park

The negatives however are long:

  • Way too big to be a serious phone
  • Graphics processor is very slow compared to Galaxy S2
  • 5 mega-pixel camera is very poor quality
  • No flash memory upgrade and on-board flash is very small
  • Looked like a Samsung concept rather than a Galaxy S2 replacement
  • Limited Android Marketplace as new version just out

Conclusion
So in the end things just didn’t stack up. I wanted the perfect Android or Windows Phone and none could offer me that. Worse, none would commit to software updates to carry them forward over my contract, which was also a deal breaker.

I really wanted to be an early adopter with Windows Phone and I was prepared to take the negatives on the Lumia 800 if Nokia would commit to updates through to Windows Phone 8.0 and beyond.

So in the end, I decided that the iPhone 4s was a unique upgrade over the iPhone 4 and the one for me. Specifically because:

  • Had everything I loved in the iPod Touch 4G 64GB
  • No need to buy apps again, just restore from backup
  • Doubled the processor power and seven times the graphics speed
  • One of the few small high-spec phones left on the market
  • Gorilla glass on the front and back mean you can’t scratch it, finger print resistant coating
  • Apple rumoured to be releasing the iPhone 5 in a year with a unibody aluminium design similar to their laptops. I hate their unibody designs and their scratchy metal backs. The iPhone 3 was horrid
  • One device to rule them all

So there you go. I lamented, analysed, theorise and frustrated myself. However, a little grudgingly this is where I ended up. That said, I’m ecstatic with the freedom of being always on the internet, Siri is just awesome and the iPhone 4s is a peppy little beast perfectly suited for two to four years of use.

I hope that in a couple of years the hardware of a Galaxy S2, merged with a Galaxy Nexus, shrunk and built by Nokia running Microsoft Windows Phone 8 will be there to compete but sadly that time isn’t here now and as such I’m glad I’m not an early adopter to be left in the gutter.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

